From a backwoods town with a small agricultural college established in 1909, Los Baños has evolved into the science mecca that is today. The Los Baños Science Community (LBSC) was established in 1984 by ten public and private development institutions. It has since grown into an organisation of 22 member-agencies.

Last March 23, 2011, the LBSC was duly registered by the Securities Exchange Commission at the Los Baños Science Foundation, Incorporated (LBSCFI), which grants juridical personality to the Corporation. Now, the LBSCFI continues to facilitate transfer and adoption of S&T research outputs and services generated by its member agencies to clients and users through various projects.

Mission and Vision

The LBSCFI is a unique organisation in the Philippines consisting of public and private development institutions with diverse, yet complementary strengths in the sciences, arts, business, and social sciences. For eighteen years, the LBSCFI has been strongly committed to effectively collaborate and cooperate towards the creation of a model community by addressing priority needs of the Los Baños community and similar environs through creativity and innovation.

Thus, LBSCFI’s vision is to build a prosperous, environmentally-conscious, scientifically-oriented, humane, and united community, living in harmony with nature.

Plans and Programs


The Environment Committee is tasked to ensure a "clean and green Los Baños" through projects on environment.


The Education Committee is tasked to uplift the S&T education I the public elementary and high schools in Los Baños and Bay. The upgrading of S&T education considers both teachers and students through projects, non-degree trainings, short courses, ans review sessions. The sector also solicits educational materials, laboratory equipment and computers for the public school.


The Livelihood Committee is concerned with strengthening the business management skills and developing livelihood plans to uplift the socioeconomic well-being of Los Banos communities through S&T-based, market-driven, client-oriented, environmentally friendly and focused livelihood projects. Further, it strengthens the capabilities of organizations in implementing livelihood programs to improve the economic status of the barangay residents.


The Tourism Committee is concerned with promoting Los Banos as the only Nature and Science City in the country.


The Information Committee is tasked to heighten awareness of the constituents of LBSCFI and its programs and projects and in building/instilling the culture of science.


Dubbed as the Los Banos Science Festival, SyenSaya is LBSCFI's yearly local celebration of the DOST's National Science and Technology Week. Started in 2008, SyenSaya as three component events:

Wonderama Exhibit which highlights science discoveries and latest research breakthroughs to enhance awareness about science and how it works for the improvement of the quality of life. Technology forum/Talakayan which serves as a venue for discussing emerging/critical issues affecting the community. R&D Awarding which serves as a venue for recognizing the best R&D papers in agriculture, forestry and natural resources sectors among the member agencies.

Board of Trustees


Dr. Melinda dP. Bandalaria
University of the Philippines Open University (UPOU)


Dr. Matthew K. Morell
Director General
International Rice Research Institute (IRRI)


Dr. Reynaldo V. Ebora
Executive Director
Philippine Council for Agriculture, Aquatic and Natural Resources Research and Development (PCAARRD)


Dr. Glenn B. Gregorio
Southeast Asian Regional Center for Graduate Study and Research in Agriculture (SEARCA)


Dr. Jose V. Camacho, Jr.
University of the Philippines Los Baños (UPLB)

Dr. Romulo T. Aggangan
Forest Product Research and Development Institute (FPRDI)

Emelita P. Bagsit
Department of Science and Technology – CALABARZON (DOST-CALABARZON)

Hon. Caezar P. Perez
The Municipal Government of Los Baños (LGU-LB)

Dir. Rhemilyn Z. Relado
Philippine Rice Research Institute (PhilRice)

Information Committee
Education Committee
Livelihood Committee
Environment Committee
Tourism Committee